FAST & FREE DELIVERY* on orders above SGD 100

High Stakes For Quiksilver Pro Saquarema

For the seventh consecutive year, the iconic pointbreak at Itauna Beach in Rio de Janeiro will host the World Surf League (WLS) men's Qualifying Series (QS) Quiksilver Pro Saquarema. The 10,000-point event will be the first international competition on Brazilian soil since Gabriel Medina's historic Title-clinching victory of the 2014 Samsung Galaxy Championship Tour (CT). Ninety-six athletes will battle it out for the $250,000 in prize money and a monumental 10,000 WSL ranking points.

The Quiksilver Pro Saquarema will immediately precede the arrival of the Top 34 for Stop No. 4 on the elite Tour, the Rio Pro, prompting many of the world's best to enter the QS competition as well.

"The entire international surfing community had been waiting anxiously for the confirmation of the Saquarema QS10000," said WSL South America Regional Director Roberto Perdigao. "For the athletes, the pointbreak at Saquarema has built a solid reputation as having some of the best waves on the international circuit. This year, due to the fact that the contest will be held one week prior to the Championship Tour event in Rio de Janeiro, the amount of elite athletes participating in Saquarema has increased considerably. As a reflection, the entire contest structure has increased in size and quality."

A variety of musical attractions, official parties and environmental activities have been planned to allure the energetic Brazilian fans to the event site in Itaúna.

"It's great to host a surf contest of this size on our coastline," stated the Secretary of Athletics, Marco Antonio Cabral. "Rio de Janeiro State has many beautiful beaches and the goal of the Department of Athletics, Youth and Leisure is to bring more and more sporting events to other regions in the state. We welcome all the athletes and hope they get great waves."

Saquarema Past Champions: 2014: Wiggolly Dantas (BRA) 2013: Mitch Coleborn (AUS) 2012: Matt Wilkinson (AUS) 2011: Kai Otton (AUS) 2010: Willian Cardoso (BRA) 2009: Neco Padaratz (BRA)